NaNoWriMo: The Beginning

NaNoWriMo.  National Novel Writing Month.  The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel rough draft, all just within the month of November.  I tried a few years and gave up after a chapter or two, claiming to be too busy or not have any good ideas, but in 2016, I wholeheartedly accepted the challenge despite being a full-time college student and that’s where this journey begins.

One month, 50,000 words, four English papers and five finals later, I finished my first ever complete rough draft that ended up reaching 182 pages.  It took that small bit of pressure from the challenge of NaNoWriMo as well as the demand of college classes to get me to finish something.  Luckily, the momentum of that challenge carried over into the revision process.
This blog is a record of my revision process, my trying to figure out if I can actually get this novel-in-progress published, and how I’m going to figure out how to go about that.
It’s going to be quite an adventure, but looking at my second draft, there is a feeling of hope somewhere in my chest.  There is potential, there is dedication, and there is hope.
Leave a Reply

