Advice to High School Writers

College will be the best four years of your life.  That’s what I had always heard growing up, anyway.  Except from one person, who told me that, “College will be the best six years of your life.”  I don’t remember who I had been talking to or even how I replied, but I sure hope I won’t be in college for six years.

It isn’t that I don’t like college.  I don’t regret my decision to come to WKU or to double major with a minor.  None of that is bad at all.  The campus is absolutely beautiful, I am the perfect distance from home and I’ve made a few friends that I believe will be friends for life.

Parents and teachers constantly mention how great college will be, but constantly remind you to keep those grades up, but also have fun and relax.  While that is good advice, it sounds a bit overwhelming.  This advice requires you to study, eat, sleep, and have fun all at the same time.  My advice is very similar to this, but a modified version.

For high school students, specifically seniors about to officially choose a university to attend, my advice is this:

Take it one step at a time.  Don’t try to do too many things at once.  Don’t forget organization.  Despite all of this, don’t forget your love to write.  Get in the habit of writing something every single day, even if it’s just one sentence, one stanza of a poem, or even working on a paper for class.  No matter what you are writing, as long as you are putting words on some sort of paper, it counts.  Sometimes you will hate writing.  It will be the last thing you want to squeeze in to your busy day.  Despite this, remember that passion and all the hard work you’ve put into your writing in the past.

I know it will feel like adding one more thing to your daily routine will only add more stress, but from my experience, that has not been the case.  I find that the moment I sit down to write, (okay, not always, but most of the time this is true) I automatically relax.  I am able to focus on the power and aesthetic of my words instead of the harsh purpose of class, eat, homework, sleep, repeat.

Add something you love to the monotony of working to get a degree.

 

Leave a Reply

