The Adventures of Draft Three

2017-02-19-17-18-18-1
New content is always more fun than editing.

Draft 3.5 of my currently untitled novel is undergoing major renovations.  Chapter 11 specifically is changing drastically and the phrase, “Kill your darlings,” is all too true.  Chapter 11 had some great lines in it, but my necessary plot changes require the cutting of quite a few of my favorites.  They also require an entirely new chapter added between 11 and 12, as well as alterations in each following chapter.

While I am incredibly excited for these changes and how they are going to effect my novel over all, I am also slightly frustrated.  If only I had thought of this before.  If only I had added it in draft one or two, instead of this far along.  Nonetheless, it is for the best, and I am looking forward to the final result.

We shall see how it goes, and hopefully I can get through these tedious and overwhelming alterations quickly and efficiently.  At least this gives me a chance to write some new material instead of only reading through the same sentences over and over again, only fixing minor verb problems, which I did for weeks right after I finished draft 2.

Wish me luck.  I will most likely need it.

Leave a Reply

