Anxieties and Writing

20170324_180604

A quiz, an exam, a paper, and all the regular homework all in one week, plus the lurking shadows of two papers due in the next week or two.  Not to mention working at the writing center, making it to church every Sunday, sleeping, eating, running a blog, and oh yeah writing a novel.  Each of these things holds a certain demand, which isn’t a bad thing necessarily.  Balancing them all, though, can get very tricky, and it is amidst all of life’s tricks and quirks that people tend to give up.

Currently, my sanity is telling me to give up.  It keeps prodding the back of my mind, saying “just quit now.  No one will mind.  It will be better that way.  No responsibilities means easier breathing.  It will be fine.”  Luckily, I’m smarter than my sanity.  I know that, while it is right in the fact that if I give up now, my mind will be more at ease in this moment.  But, I also know that if I give up now, that peace will flea my being faster than it came.

This stress and anxiety and bombardment of excessive responsibility are all temporary.  It all comes with the territory and I have not yet become accustomed to the pressure.  I will adjust with time, but until then, I must keep going.  That is all I can do.

I can go on library adventures.  I can get caught in a thunderstorm for the sake of good coffee.  I can keep writing.  I can keep going.

Thank you to everyone who keeps me going.

One thought on “Anxieties and Writing

Leave a Reply

