Not a Hobby

typewriter-10It is day 6 back home for the summer.  I am sorry I haven’t written in a while.  Every day this far, I have gotten further and further from my write something every day goal, but no more.  Today, that changes.  I will write at least something every single say.  I have gotten my novel out to all my readers, which is terrifying and amazing and exciting all at the same time, but that does not mean I can slack on my writing progress.

I am determined to continue to grow as a writer, and I have to keep that passion and mindset throughout every day.  Ray Bradbury, one of my favorite authors of all time, once said, “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you,” and that has become one of the most inspiring things I have read.  It feeds that constant writing habit.  I pushes a writer like me forward into the realm of writing things no one, including myself, knew was possible.

But after all, I am not writing only because I want to, or only because it’s relaxing.  I am not writing for a hobby.  I want writing to be my career, eventually.  But more than that, I want writing to be my life.

So this post is me encouraging my future self, as well as any other writer who needs to remember the passion they once had.  Because that passion will fade, but it can always be sparked again.

One thought on “Not a Hobby

  1. Pingback: Hiatus | Penstroke

Leave a Reply

