Keep Moving Forward

The past few days have been even more eventful and emotional than I thought they were going to be.  I had prepared myself for some sort of brief outpouring of emotion, but nothing to the extent of what I actually experienced.

2017-05-25 11.11.36The past two years when I have been away from home at WKU, my best friend has been here finishing up high school.  It’s been hard for both of us, I think, being away from each other sometimes for months at a time.  Even though she is two years younger than me, she has helped me grow as a person and as a writer (see Ellen’s post “They’re Taking the Hobbits to… Writer’s Block?“)  Yesterday, this unbelievably amazing friend graduated high school, which lucky for me, means she is coming to WKU with me in the fall!

I cannot wait for all the adventures ahead of us in the years to come, but the present requires some thoughts before those adventures begin.  Ellen’s graduation party was yesterday afternoon, so of course I felt inclined to write a deep, inspiring and sappy letter to put along with my mini college survival kit I had put together, equipped with sticky notes, pens, candy, and paper cranes.

recite-y0aawlWhen I sat down to write this inspiring, poetic, encouraging letter, I found it more difficult than anything else I had written recently, which is saying something.  This letter is definitely the most important thing I have written in a long time, and I found I could not get it to sound the way I wanted it to.  Dan Kennedy sums this feeling up really well in the quote to the right.  The importance of this letter and the importance of my audience didn’t necessarily get in the way of what I wanted to say, but made my perfectionism come out all the more.  Eventually, I shoved it aside and wrote the letter anyway, letting my voice come out naturally.  This was not easy, but in the end it definitely paid off.

I could not have spent yesterday with a better friend and I am so glad I got to be apart of all the festivities.  Ellen, you’re leaving for the summer, but then we’ll have all next semester to have amazing adventures in both writing and in life!

 

Leave a Reply

