Unlikely Places

Since the beginning of the summer, I’ve been trying to come up with an idea for my next project.  Before yesterday, I had nothing.  Of course, when I’m working on something I have all kinds of ideas, but when I’m looking for a new idea, I draw a complete blank.  I’ve been trying to write random scenes or come up with characters, but nothing stuck.  At one point, I tried to convince myself that writing a romance that takes place on a bee farm was a great idea.  Luckily, I quickly talked myself out of that one.

In the midst of my struggle of finding something worth sticking with, my friend J, who is also a writer and artist, decided to text me a list of random questions, which included the following:

  1.  1. Since oxygen can liquefy or even solidify under certain conditions, would it be capable of doing so in the human body?
  2. 2. If a woman in one dimension gets pregnant, does that automatically mean that in a parallel universe, she must become pregnant as well?
  3. 3. Do you ever get flashes of memory where you actually feel like you’re reliving the moment instead of just remembering?

While I obviously did not know the answers to his first two questions, the third one resonated with me.  I tend to remember things very vividly, sometimes leading to a weird, almost-dreamlike memory.  This got us talking about dreams, as well as different universes.  Which led to a story idea that we are working on together.

All this to say, some of the weirdest, most fun and unsuspecting conversations can lead to some pretty awesome story ideas.  This will be my first co-op piece in a while, and I’m looking forward to working on it with J and exploring the universes of dreams.

Leave a Reply

