Words, not Fear

recite-avj9e5When writing, there is often fear.  Fear of not being good enough, fear of what you write not being enjoyed or read, fear of writing in general.  But consider this: at least you’re writing.  Yes, there is fear, but slowly, those fears will diminish when you go back and read what you have written and are able to say that you did that thing.  That moment is very hard to see in the beginning.  I stare at the blank page, knowing I have words in me to pour onto the page, and yet fear grips my fingertips for those few moments.  But then I remember why I write.  And I think about what would happen if I didn’t write.  I don’t know exactly what would happen, but I don’t want to ever find out, so I start with a single word on the page.

Leave a Reply

