Writing is like a tree. A very weird, crazy tree.

I love being excited about writing again.  I love waking up every morning and the first thing I want to do is sit down and write.  I missed that feeling while it was away for that short time.  This feeling, or lack thereof, does not make me more or less of a writer, but it sure does make it a lot easier to write when I have this desire to do so.

IMG_20170502_222447
First physical draft of my NaNo 2016 novel

There are so many achievements behind me, like finishing a novel and continuing to edit it, but there are so many more things to write in the future, near or distant.  As I slowly but surely solidify what I want to do with my life (which is a big question that people like to ask very young people), I gain more and more excitement over words and writing.

As my dream of being an author is growing closer and closer to becoming a reality, I cannot help but look back into the past as well as forward into the future.  I remember sitting at my mom’s desktop computer in seventh grade, writing what I thought was going to be the next best seller.  In reality, it was a poorly written romance/adventure/”historical fiction” novella about the French Revolution that, for some reason, I did not feel the need to research for at all.  While this little story will never be published, it was my springboard.  I started there and have grown to where I am now, so I cannot forget it.  That was my proudest achievement in middle school, just as my current novel-in-progress is my masterpiece now.  I still have so far to grow, but the ambition and excitement is there and that is how I know I will continue to grow.  I can’t wait to see where the rest of this summer, as well as this next school year, takes me.

Image result for world map

Leave a Reply

